My Mustard Paste

This comes handy in making fish preparations mostly in Bengali dishes.

Ingredients

1. 100 gms yellow mustard seeds

2. 50 gms black mustard seeds

3. 1 dried red chilli

4. 1 fresh green chilli

5. 200 gms raw mango(When mangoes are not in season, they can be substituted by tomatoes for sourness.)

Procedure

1. Soak mustard seeds and dried red chillies in bowl.

2. 2 to 3 hours later, add all the ingredients in a blender and blend it into a fine paste.

3. Store in an air-tight container and keep it in the freezer.

4. Use as and when required.

Note: Mustard seeds are usually bitter. Adding chillies and raw mango takes away the bitterness.

7 thoughts on “My Mustard Paste

  1. Thanks, Anuradha! I recently posted a recipe on my blog for a prepared mustard that gets stored in the fridge, but I love the idea of freezing this paste. Besides your pumpkin stems recipe, which I’ll have to wait to make until I have fall pumpkins ready for harvest, do you have recommends for using it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Prawns in mustard sauce – Chingdi macher jhaal – Aromas of My Kitchen

  3. This is so delicious! We decided that we liked a little more fruit in the paste, so I doubled the mango and used it this week in your Prawns in Mustard Sauce. I put the rest of the paste into an ice cube tray and froze it up for later use, like I do with my Basil Pesto Base. I’m definitely trying it with tomatoes when they come in season.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

